Poetry Against the World
Poetry Against the World
Interview with Mystic Shorts
0:00
-38:13

Interview with Mystic Shorts

Christianity, Mysticism, and Short Films

I recently conducted an interview with Joshua Lindberg of Mystic Shorts, a YouTube channel where he shares his short experimental films making heavy use of religious imagery.

I first met him about a year ago when he was a an eclectic “seeker,” but in the past several months he has been received into the Southern Baptist community. As a rigid, unfeeling, Catholic dogmatist there are many things in that tradition I consider to be unBiblical and otherwise mistaken, but I have always gotten along with Joshua and was excited to chat with him about how conversion was affecting his art.

His previous works included a wide variety of symbols from Buddhas to Tarot cards. Though he is still working out exactly how Christianity will change his approach, his first film with an explicitly Christian turn is viewable here.

Let me know what you think of the interview. I’m much more interested in writing than in gabbing on the air, but I do enjoy having a conversation with other artists when I can, and may do this more in the future.

0 Comments
Poetry Against the World
Poetry Against the World
Talks and interviews on art, spirituality, and philosophy within a broadly Catholic context.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
E L Brooks
Recent Episodes
  E L Brooks